Lott IMPACT Award: Buffs 2-way Hunter among 9 semifnalsts

Nov 4, 2023; Boulder, Colorado, USA; Colorado Buffaloes cornerback Travis Hunter (12) breaks past Oregon State Beavers defensive back Jermod McCoy (23) at Folsom Field. Mandatory Credit: Chet Strange-USA TODAY Sports
Nov 4, 2023; Boulder, Colorado, USA; Colorado Buffaloes cornerback Travis Hunter (12) breaks past Oregon State Beavers defensive back Jermod McCoy (23) at Folsom Field. Mandatory Credit: Chet Strange-USA TODAY Sports

NEWPORT BEACH, CA. – The Pacific Club IMPACT® Foundation has named nine semifinalists for the 2023 Lott IMPACT® Trophy.

The Lott IMPACT® Trophy, now in its 20th year, goes to the student-athlete who best exhibits the characteristics of Ronnie Lott by making an IMPACT® on and off the field. IMPACT® is an acronym for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

Finalists will be invited to attend the annual Lott IMPACT® Trophy award show, December 10, 2023, in Newport Beach, California. Joel Klatt from Fox Sports will emcee the event.

The university of the winner will receive $25,000 for its general scholarship fund while the other finalists will receive $5,000 for each of their schools.

The 2023 Lott IMPACT® Trophy semifinalists include four defensive linemen, two linebackers, and three defensive backs from the ACC, Big Ten, SEC, and Pac 12 conferences.

The 2023 Lott IMPACT® Trophy Semifinalists:

Junior Colson, LB, Michigan

Cooper DeJean, DB, Iowa

Jonah Elliss, DL, Utah

Travis Hunter, DB, Colorado

Laiatu Latu, DE, UCLA

Kool-Aid McKinstry, DB, Alabama

Jer’Zhan Newton, DT, Illinois

Dallas Turner, LB, Alabama

Jared Verse, DE, Florida State 

Previous Winners of the Lott IMPACT® Trophy

2004 – David Pollack, Georgia

2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama

2006 – Dante Hughes, Cal

2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU

2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State

2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU

2010 – J.J. Watt, Wisconsin

2011 – Luke Kuechly, Boston College

2012 – Manti Te’o, Notre Dame

2013 – Anthony Barr, UCLA

2014 – Eric Kendricks, UCLA

2015 – Carl Nassib, Penn State

2016 – Jabrill Peppers, Michigan

2017 – Josey Jewell, Iowa

2018 – Josh Allen, Kentucky

2019 – Derek Brown, Auburn

2020 – Paddy Fisher, Northwestern

2021 – Aidan Hutchinson, Michigan

2022 – Will Anderson Jr., Alabama

The 20th Annual Lott IMPACT® Trophy Award Presentation will be held December 10th at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, California. To purchase tickets for the event, click here or for more information on The Lott Trophy visit: www.LottImpactTrophy.org


Latest Player Notes

How Wisconsin athletes are benefiting from a unique NIL deal with Madison's Exact Sciences

Feb 17, 2024MJ Hammill entered what can be a scary time of an athlete’s life in mid-December.She went into the volleyball ...

Mike Griffith: Texas is Georgia's primary focus this offseason

February 16, 2024The Georgia Bulldogs face three SEC contenders on the road next season in Alabama, Texas and Ole Miss. According ...

Navigating a season that could see Texas play Georgia more than once

February 17, 2024The Texas Longhorns and Georgia Bulldogs will play in Austin on Oct. 19. It may not be the only time they ...

After some key departures from the team, Dykes got busy in the portal this offseason.

5:11 PM on Feb 16, 2024Biggest unanswered question: Who will emerge as the clear WR1?Before last season, Williams was the ...

How Louisville football coach Jeff Brohm balances transfer portal, high school recruiting

Louisville Courier JournalCollege football used to buzz on the first Wednesday in February, but Louisville football's office ...

Bob Asmussen | Illinois defense counting on linebackers to plug the gaps

College Football Reporter/ColumnistCHAMPAIGN — A new linebacker coach is in place at Illinois, and Archie McDaniel said he ...

Where Alabama’s quarterback group stands before spring practice

Alabama football’s offense is going to look different this season. Kalen DeBoer has replaced the retired Nick Saban as head ...

Why did AJ McCarron return to the St. Louis Battlehawks?

When AJ McCarron joined the resurrected XFL last year, the former Alabama All-American hadn’t played since suffering a knee ...

Colorado football self-reported 11 minor NCAA violations from Deion Sanders’ first year with Buffs

1/26/2024The Colorado football program has self-reported 11 minor NCAA violations since the hiring of head coach Deion Sanders ...

What Steve Young said about today’s NFL quarterbacks

By Jackson Payne Steve Young may have enjoyed a Hall of Fame career in the NFL, but that doesn’t stop him from feeling just ...
See More Player Notes